Digistar: Mobile Wars

In Conversation with Digistar: Mobile Wars

Wednesday March 16, 2011
3:00 PM SL/PST (6:00 PM EST/11:00 PM CET/10:00 PM GMT)

This month, Kevin spoke with guest Tim Gorree (aka Digistar Brouwer) who has been with Nokia since 1999 in various professional positions. Previously a Communications Officer for Nokia Online Services, he brought Nokia into Second Life during the second half of 2006. Tim is the chief evangelist for Virtual Worlds enterprise usage within Nokia.

Nokia’s presence in Second Life will soon hit 5 years and is happy to announce that they will continue to stay in Second Life.

Tim is currently analyzing the opportunities and implications of Nokia’s partnership with Microsoft and is deeply impressed with the work that Microsoft has done with the Kinect and how it can be used to create gestures and animation.

For more information about Microsoft Kinect, Craig Mundie, Chief Research and Strategy Officer at Microsoft, recently spoke about the creation of very realistic avatar in a You Tube video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c_puIRBjMd4

It will be very interesting to see how this will play out in the future. The role of virtual worlds on mobile phones is yet to be explored and many are getting excited about the emerging opportunities in this area. For the first time, it will be possible to develop applications for Nokia phones using the standard WP7 developer tools and publish their apps in the Windows Marketplace.

Leave a Reply

  • Metaverse TV
  • Rockcliffe University Consortium